Skip to main content

Press Releases & Newsletters

NEF Welcomes Five Trustees and Elects Board Officers

Naperville, IL – The Naperville Education Foundation (NEF), the non-profit arm of Naperville Community Unit School District 203, welcomed Travis George, Diana Torres Hawken, Kristin Porter, Dr. Kelly Ryan, and Steve Schnack to its Board of Trustees, effective July 1, 2021. Kimberley Henderson was elected board chair, Julie Beehler vice chair, Jenny Tank board secretary and Jordan Johnson as board treasurer.

Outgoing Board Chair Kitty Ryan said, “I join all NEF trustees in welcoming these five outstanding individuals to the Board. Diana, Kelly, Kristin, Steve and Travis bring unique talents and experiences to NEF and most of all, are deeply committed to the NEF mission.  It will be wonderful to see all they will contribute to our important work.”

New Trustees

Board Officers

The board elected a new slate of officers. Kimberley Henderson was elected board chair. Henderson holds a JD/MBA and is a parent liaison for volunteer organization S.U.C.C.E.S.S. (Schools Using Coordinated Community Efforts to Strengthen Students), which is devoted to inspiring and empowering black students/children of color in the district to achieve greatness. Henderson is also actively involved in Jack & Jill of America, Inc., a membership of African-American mothers and children whose objectives are to create a medium of contact for children which will stimulate growth and development and provide children constructive educational, cultural, civic, health, recreational and social programs. She is an active Home & School volunteer.

Julie Beehler was elected vice chair. A retired educator, Beehler worked for more than 35 years in Naperville 203, starting as an elementary teacher and serving as Principal at Beebe and Naper Elementary schools before becoming Director of Administrative Services for the District. She continues to work for the Regional Office of Education as a mentor for new principals across DuPage County.

Jenny Tank will continue as secretary. Tank is a former attorney and current advocate, acting on behalf of children in the foster care system through CASA of DuPage County. She is also the Intake Coordinator for Modify Counseling and serves on the Home and School Association for Highlands Elementary School.

Jordan Johnson continues in his role as board treasurer. Johnson is Manager at DHJJ where he works with closely-held businesses and individuals on tax planning, tax preparation, business advisory, investment management and financial planning. Johnson is a Certified Public Accountant and has his Series 65 Investment Advisor Certification.


The Naperville Education Foundation (NEF) raises and grants funds for programs that enhance and enrich the educational experience of Naperville School District 203 students. With the generous support of foundations, businesses, educational professionals and individual donors, NEF is able to provide financial resources that increase learning opportunities by supplementing school district budgets. NEF encourages creativity, innovation and excellence in our students by helping to ensure that every student in the district can take advantage of opportunities to make the most of their education.